The Freshman Fifteen, Part VI

October 30, 2016: I Ran Out of Things to Talk About So Let’s Talk About Music

One of my favorite things about getting to know my new college friends and them getting to know me is sharing music tastes. It’s a way to connect with people, to expand your musical horizons, and to brag about my seasonal playlists that I spend a lot of time and energy cultivating.

Since I lowkey ran out of things to talk about, this Freshman Fifteen is dedicated to sharing some of my fall 2016 playlist with y’all!

  • “Where You Wanna Go” (feat. Emily Hearn) by Graham Colton. I’ve been a huge Emily Hearn fan for a while (Remember that one time I met her?), so when my sister told me she was featured on this new song, I was pumped, and it did not disappoint. “Where You Wanna Go” is just the right mix of relaxed and driving, chill and upbeat. The male and female vocals blend together and complement one another really nicely. The lyrics are also really fun, two people sticking together and adventuring to new places. It’s a good song in general, but especially for a nice afternoon drive in the fall weather Auburn hasn’t gotten yet. *upside down smiley face* *how is Auburn so hot still*
  • “Monsters Talk” (feat. Bear Rinehart) by John Mark McMillan. Okay, this song is a JAM. The instrumentation, especially the intro, is really cool. Bear Rinehart, the lead singer of NEEDTOBREATHE, and John Mark McMillan’s vocals both fit the song and each other perfectly. I’m not surprised that I love this song so much, because John Mark McMillan is generally amazing, so if you like it, you should also check out “Visceral” and “Wilderlove,” my other faves of his.
  • Jon Foreman. Jon Foreman is the lead singer of Switchfoot, but he has a really different sound as a solo artist. This stuff has a much more chill, acoustic, singer-songwriter vibe, which makes him a great artist to unwind to at the end of a long day or study to when I need to avoid stress. His voice is unique, and his lyrics are solid. My faves are “You Alone,” “Inheritance,” and “Run Free.”
  • Jonathan David and Melissa Helser. As I wait not so patiently for their latest album to drop on Spotify, I’ve been listening to some of this married duo’s older stuff. Their worship is authentic, beautiful, and inspiring. Both of their voices slay, especially together, and the instrumentation really fits the purpose of each individual song. I recommend “On the Shores” and “Explode My Soul”; you can also check out the songs they have with Bethel Music.
  • Judah & the Lion. Judah & the Lion is the first college concert I went to, so they’ll always be a special band to me now. They were incredible and exciting live, and their studio stuff is awesome, too. Best of all, it takes me back to the first Friday of college, the first night I ate dinner here (lol I had been eating snacks in my dorm every night), and the first time I met two of my friends. After the concert, I was sure to add “Water,” “Mason-Dixon Line,” “Back’s Against the Wall,” and “Our Love” to my playlist.
  • “Come Thou Fount” by Kings Kaleidoscope. Growing up in a less traditional church, I wasn’t super familiar with this song, but coming to Auburn and checking out several churches and on-campus ministries, it started popping up everywhere. This version has a rockstar arrangement that’s really unique. The vocals are really consistent and pleasing, and it builds really nicely. Y’all know I love a good build.
  • Mat Kearney. Shoosh yeah, I’ve been listening to Mat Kearney a lot. (I also got my roommate started on him a couple days ago, so #win.) His newer stuff is catchy and vibrant, his older stuff is classic and comfortable, and all of it is fantastic. I love way too many of his songs to recommend them all, but if I had to pick, my favorites are “Billion,” “Ghost,” “The Conversation,” “Coming Home (Oregon),” and “Head or Your Heart.”
  • “Wild World” by Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors. Simple. Honest. Relevant. Beautiful. S’good.
  • Where the Light Shines Through by Switchfoot. This album is real nice. The lyrics are deep, meaningful, and inspirational. The rock vibe alternates between laid back and exciting. And of course, Jon Foreman’s voice adapts seamlessly from lots of acoustic guitar to lots of electric. My faves off this album are “Where the Light Shines Through,” “I Won’t Let You Go,” and “If the House Burns Down Tonight.”

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoy these snappy little tunes!

(“The Freshman Fifteen” is a year-long blogging project posting every fifteen days of my freshman year of college. Follow along for life updates, deep thoughts, and everything in between.)

Leave a Reply

