Be a Honey-Roaster

12519085_1213235122039954_366001594_n

Last night, I went to a partay. So Worth Loving, a company I’ve followed/been in love with for a couple years, opened their first retail space, and I went to the celebration with my mom, sister, aunt, and friend. It began as many SWL events do: lots of people, so much cuteness, photo booths, saying hi to the staff, obsessing over the new products on sale. As the night went on, my friend and I met a few new people and talked with them for a while about ENOs, crazy roommates, and life. Though the weather was a little chilly, we stood on the back patio and just marveled at the beauty of this community. So Worth Loving is one of the safest places I have found, where you can literally just walk up to strangers and talk. I’m so, so grateful for that.

And I was even more grateful after we had a honey-roast.

Y’all, it was kind of cray. As my friend and I talked to the girls we had met, we noticed a group of about twenty twentysomethings standing in a circle and clapping every once in a while. They noticed our confused glances and invited us to join, explaining that they were having a honey-roast. In case you don’t know, “roasts” are basically when a bunch of people make fun of someone and say mean things about that person. They might be joking, and they might not. But this was a “honey-roast,” so instead of being rude and critical, someone would stand in the middle of the circle and three or four people would say really nice things about them. It was full of truth, bravery, and depth. The whole point was just making people feel valued, loved, seen, and known. How cool is that?

It felt new and familiar all at the same time. It felt like family and friends. It felt amazing, encouraging, and uplifting. It felt like the kind of thing I want to do for the rest of my life. The SWL family is this beautiful intersection of a message and a community, and that’s never been more evident to me than last night. It’s not about a shirt: it’s about love. There was love on that back patio last night.

So, inspired by friends new and old last night, here’s my challenge to you and to me today: One person. Just pick one person that you are going to honey-roast the heck out of. Tell them face to face or pick up the phone and call them. Let them know how much they mean to you. Let them know your favorite thing about them. Remind them of who they are and where they’re heading. And then head into this week (knowing that you’re amazing and are going to kick butt at all of the things) intent to be a honey-roaster. It requires bravery and boldness, but it’s going to be so worth it.

Just imagine that world. A world full of people who aren’t afraid to say the things on their mind and in their heart. A world full of encouragers and truth-tellers. A world full of the kindest honesty. I truly do believe that together, we can make this crazy world we live in look a lot like a honey-roast. It starts with you, and your one person, and me and my one person, today. As cheesy as it sounds… let’s be honey-roasters, y’all.

Leave a Reply

