Senioritis: An Honest Report from the Trenches, Part VI

January 28, 2016: Provision

*cool God story alert*

My Young Life leader texted me yesterday afternoon. After I shared with her on Monday about the college stress I’ve been feeling, she had been thinking about me this week and wanted to remind me: The Lord will provide. She told me that she’s praying for me and that God’s provision doesn’t always look like what’s expected or makes sense, but that it’s always what we need.

Not half an hour later, I found out that UNC Chapel Hill had posted their acceptances early, and I got in.

As if that wasn’t evidence enough of God’s faithful provision, later that night, I got an email. Sewanee had posted their acceptances early as well, and I got in there, too. I wasn’t supposed to find out from UNC until Sunday and Sewanee until mid-February, but God orchestrated yesterday’s events perfectly to show off a little. He is faithful and good.

God knew I needed it, too. He knew that after crying my way through yet another family college meeting, filing the FAFSA, visiting UGA last Friday in the freezing rain, and preparing for a Samford visit tomorrow, I just needed some good news. I needed Him to show up in this particular area of my life, college, the green pen in my planner. (I color code.) While I’ve been doing my best to trust Him through this process, it’s a lot harder than I expected. But He showed up for me yesterday and proved, as if He hadn’t proven it a million times already: He is faithful and good.

The Lord will provide, and I am so thankful. He is faithful and good.

Leave a Reply

