Cranking Up Christmas Cheer

I have decided that it’s going to be the best Christmas ever.

Last week, I realized that I was being a bit of a Scrooge. December birthday + finals can cause the holidays to lose some of their magic. I was excited(ish) about Christmas, but more preoccupied with passing my classes and letting everybody know my opinion on combined birthday/Christmas gifts.

Then, I decided to stop being lame and transformed myself into an actual elf.

This playlist helped.

Looking for some holiday tunes to dance around the kitchen to while you bake cookies or enjoy while you wrap presents? I’ve got you covered.

  • The Oh Hellos’ Family Christmas Album by The Oh Hellos. This album only has four songs, but they’re all phenomenal, combining a storytelling vibe with lots of acoustic, folksy instruments and large-group vocals. They feature an aggregate of verses and refrains from classic carols, mashed together to create new, amazing pieces. I recommend this album to everyone, because I recommend all of The Oh Hellos to everyone, but especially to people looking for Christmas music that’s upbeat and/or has some great builds.
  • We Have a Savior by Hillsong Worship. If you wanted more folksy, here you have it. We Have a Savior features more upbeat, folksy Christmas tunes, with a mix of old carols and new favorites. The entire album proclaims the message of its title: Christmas is a celebrating that we have a Savior, and His name is Jesus. Favorite songs: “We Have a Savior,” “Born Is the King (It’s Christmas),” and “O Come Let Us Adore Him.”
  • “O Holy Night” by The Hunts. Who knew there was so much folksy Christmas music out there? This version of “O Holy Night” is more upbeat than most, featuring a lot of violins and cool stringy instruments as well as a killer female vocalist. It’s a fun new twist on a classic carol that you should definitely check out.
  • Christmas by Michael Buble. Michael Buble is the voice of Christmas okay. This entire album is the epitome of holiday spirit and it’s impossible not to feel giddy with Christmas cheer when you listen to it. Which you should.
  • “Hallelujah” by Eddie Kirkland with North Point Music. This song off North Point’s Christmas: Let There Be Light album is one of my faves. It’s overflowing praise and joy mixing the Hallelujah chorus, classic Christmas lyrics, and crazy rad instrumentation. It truly makes me want to “rejoice, rejoice, Emmanuel has come.” (All of the North Point Christmas albums make me want to, actually.)
  • “O Come O Come Emmanuel” by Phil Wickham. Phil Wickham’s version of this beautiful carol wins the award for my favorite Christmas song ever. The lyrics of “O Come O Come Emmanuel” are already gorgeous, a message of crying out to God and finding hope in Him. Phil Wickham’s voice and the builds in this song (I love me some builds) make it a really fantastic version and a really fantastic way to remember what Christmas truly means: Emmanuel, God with us.

I hope these make you want to crank up the Christmas cheer! Let me know some of your favorite holiday tunes in the comments. Merry Christmas (almost-ish)!

Leave a Reply

