Review: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley follows Lydia Bennet of “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries,” a modernized vlog-style adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Epic Adventures picks up immediately after the end of “LBD” as Lydia applies to college, becomes interested in psychology, and moves on from the terrible events with George Wickham. It’s full of character growth with a standalone plot line and lots of laughter. I give The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet 8/10 stars for excellent characterization, being reunited with all my old friends, and generally all the feels.

Things I Liked:

  • The Ly-di-ah, a.k.a. the adorbs, is back! I was so proud of her growth as she learns to be confident in herself, wants to help people, and works on her relationships. Overall, my favorite part of reading The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet and The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet was definitely that it felt like being reunited with lots of old friends. I just really, really, really love “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries,” and both of these books were an incredible way to keep experiencing one of my favorite stories in an entirely new way.
  • I loved reading from Lydia’s POV. Though her voice isn’t quite as strong as Lizzie’s in The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet, it’s still present, funny, quirky, and very Lydia. The writing in Epic Adventures also has phenomenal quotes, including…
    • “Here’s the thing about good guys. They don’t tell you they’re good guys.”
    • “… strangely connected to strangers telling secrets that weren’t really theirs.”
  • The setting in Epic Adventures is really strong, and I enjoyed every change in location. From Books Beans and Buds to the idyllic New York apartment rooftop, each place contributes really well to the plot and Lydia’s attitude and character development.
  • The failure essay is very important to me. I was waiting to read Lydia’s essay about her failure and learning from it for the. entire. book. And it was so worth it. I was actually crying when I read it; that’s how proud I was of her.
  • Lydia stands up to stupid George Wickham and it is the best thing ever. This comes in a close second to her standing up to stupid Cody (which is also the scene of one of my favorite quotes from the book: “I’m Lydia freaking Bennet. And I’m done being lame.”).
  • The Mechanics are a really great musical addition! I enjoyed all of the concert scenes, especially when Mary has to join in on bass and Lydia is enthusiastically cheering her on.
  • I just really love Lydia Bennet.

Things I Didn’t Like:

  • Epic Adventures was just a tad predictable. I called it that Cody is bad news and that the book would end with Lydia’s failure essay. The whole thing certainly wasn’t predictable (I definitely didn’t think we’d be seeing any more of George or that we’d go to New York), but those parts were pretty easy to figure out.

Favorite Character:

  • In case it isn’t obvious… Lydia Bennet. Whaaaaaaaaaaaaat.

That’s it for The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet! If you haven’t already, I strongly recommend you do the following things in the following order:

  1. Read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
  2. Watch “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.”
  3. Read The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet by Bernie Su and Kate Rorick.
  4. Read The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley.
  5. Fall into the inevitable pit of awesome that is the literary inspired web series fandom. Good luck!

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see y’all soon with a new post!

One thought on “Review: The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet by Kate Rorick and Rachel Kiley

  1. Pingback: Favorite Books of 2015 | Not Actually Hermione, But Pretty Close

Leave a Reply

