Fall Favorites

Hi, I’m Haley and I like music. A lot.

Here are some of my favorite songs/albums/artists from this fall. They’ll help you sip your pumpkin spice latte as you don a sweater at a bonfire. (No judgment, though, because I actually get a pumpkin chai latte and it is life. Also, I made chocolate chip pumpkin bread. Go. Pumpkin. Don’t let anyone tell you different.)

  • Wilder Minds by Mumford & Sons. Up until this fall, I had never liked Mumford & Sons. They were way too twangy for me. However, their latest album is a lot more alternative, calming, and more rock with less folksy aggression. Favorite songs: “The Wolf,” “Snake Eyes,” and “Broad-Shouldered Beasts.”
  • Dear Wormwood by The Oh Hellos. THIS ALBUM IS ONE OF THE GREATEST THINGS TO HAPPEN TO MUSIC IN THE HISTORY OF EVER. It’s folksy, it’s cheerful, it’s meaningful, it’s deep, it’s beautiful, it’s AMAZING. LISTEN TO ALL OF IT RIGHT NOW.
  • “Peace Song” by Kye Kye. This song is super chill and super calming. I really like Kye Kye’s voice, the simplistic beat and instrumentation, and lyrics of the verses.
  • The Paper Kites. I like a lot of The Paper Kites’ older stuff, off their albums Woodland and Young North. They’re acoustic-y, pretty, and chill, with some great vocals (and harmonies. Always harmonies). Favorite songs: “Featherstone,” “A Maker of My Time,” and “Paint.”
  • “Tears” by The Tragic Thrills. Thank you, Spotify Discover Weekly! This song is driving and fun with a great beat and positive message about accepting scars and tears as a reminder of our humanity. The changing instrumentation from verses to chorus to instrumental riffs is also a plus.
  • The Inlaws. Of course, they only have three songs (“Future,” “Walls,” and “Don’t Give Up”), but I can’t decide which is better. The vocals slayyyyyyyy, the melodies are wonderful, and the messages of the lyrics are hopeful, telling the story of working hard for love. Their self-titled debut EP seems to be all about building: building a relationship, building trust, building willingness to be with another person. Add a lot of acoustic guitar, and that’s one beautiful album.
  • Ben Rector. Without this man, I don’t know if I could make it through college applications. Ben Rector’s happy melodies, brilliant lyrics, and fun, dance-worthy songs have been getting me through essay upon essay upon essay. They’re just good love songs and good life songs. Favorite songs: “The Men That Drive Me Places” (which is so amazing I just can’t), “Crazy,” and “Sailboat.”

I hope these recommendations create a playlist of wondrous fall-itude. Happy fall, y’all!

Leave a Reply

