Senioritis: An Honest Report from the Trenches, Part IV

October 15, 2015: The First Acceptance

“Anjana, should I wait for a real letter in the mail or check my application status online?”

“Haley, what are you doing? CHECK YOUR APPLICATION STATUS ONLINE RIGHT NOW.”

*clickety-clackety typing and logging in*

*breaks into incredibly wide smile that does not leave for the rest of the day*

I got into Auburn.

Last Thursday, I spent my study hall and lunch flying through the school, calling my family members, ringing the bell in the college counseling office, and generally flailing about.

Because I got into Auburn!

There’s no other way to put it: this was one of the best feelings in the world. Itty bitty freshman Haley with braces and bushy hair was told about college applications and how important it was that she start working hard so that senior year would be full of possibilities and good news. But she couldn’t imagine how crazy it would feel to see those words on her laptop screen: accepted for admission. The whole application process has felt so surreal, but this acceptance felt the most surreal of everything. I couldn’t stop repeating it: I got into college. I got into college. I got into college. What made it even better was that I didn’t just get into college: I got into Auburn University, a school that I’m really, really excited about.

For the past few days, I’ve been riding this orange and blue high. To know that I can have a future as a Tiger, screaming, “War Eagle!” at football games, giving tours and pointing out the Caribou Coffee in the library and Chick-fil-A in the dining hall, bleeding orange and blue, going to Momma G’s for lunch (and breakfast and dinner)… it’s relaxing and thrilling all at the same time. I’m just so grateful: to God, for everything from the opportunity to go to college to the confidence that He will be with me and working wherever I go; to my family, for watching me hit submit on my Auburn app and loving me through this stressful season; to my school and my absolutely incredible college counselors for how early we start our college applications (it’s so worth it) and how amazing and encouraging they’ve been; and to my friends, for cheering me on, being there for me, and well-timed hugs.

It’s the first acceptance, and senior year is really looking up. War Eagle!

IMG_2436

2 thoughts on “Senioritis: An Honest Report from the Trenches, Part IV

Leave a Reply

