Worthy

“Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him!”

-Isaiah 30:18

Justice begins when we realize we don’t deserve it.

I think a lot about words like “worth” and “value” and “deserve” because I struggled with them a while back and then found inspiring organizations and people like So Worth Loving, Hannah Brencher, and Eryn Eddy who use them. A lot. And I think I have concluded that to be worth something and to deserve something are two completely different things.

You deserve something based on what you do. You do your chores, you deserve your allowance. You work really hard, you deserve a break. But being worth something has to do with who you are, in your core, in your very bones.

That’s why I can say I deserve hell but am worth heaven; I deserve death but am worth life; I deserve hate but am worthy of love; I deserve shame but am worthy of forgiveness. What I do, and therefore what I deserve, sucks in comparison to holy, perfect standards. I fall short all the time and deserve the death that sin causes. For a while, that was also my identity. Sin was this unshakeable, unbreakable piece of me.

But then, Jesus. He came along and fixed it. Sin was taken out of my identity and replaced with words like “loved” and “pure” and “blameless.” In mercy, He took what I deserved. In grace, He made me worthy of better.

God decides who I am. Not me, or anything I do, or anything I say or think. “Loved by Him” is written at the top of the list of things about Haley in big, bold letters, and it trumps everything else. He calls me worthy, and I believe He calls everyone worthy. His death started the worthy crew. He paid the ultimate price to determine our value; His life given on a cross is a much more solid foundation for self-image than any inward or outward beauty or strength.

Praise be to the One who called us worthy when we definitely didn’t deserve it and continues to call us worthy today. He is so crazy in love with us, and that’s the greatest love story the world will ever see: a love so powerful that it took people who were broken and deserved death and made them worthy of more.

2 thoughts on “Worthy

  1. The great apostle and evangelist Paul wrestled with the issue of sin in his life. We may think; Paul certainly didn’t have a sin problem. The truth – we all do. In Romans 7: 14 – 25 Paul expresses his inner conflict with sin. In essence he said “I do what I shouldn’t do and don’t do what I should”. Sound familiar? Well the good news of scripture has a wonderful response in Romans 8: 1 referring back to Paul’s conflict with sin. Romans 8:1 (NASB95) Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.
    Always look for therefore to get the whole truth.

Leave a Reply

