It Mattered

I hope you know it mattered.

I hope you know you made one day a little easier and a little brighter for a high school girl who was running out of steam as finals approached. I hope you know that getting up after a late night studying wasn’t as difficult as it could’ve been, because I knew you’d be on the other side. I hope you know that when you asked to see prom pictures, I looked around and realized how grateful I am for you.

I hope you know that small smiles from you make me smile right back long after your joyous expression has disappeared. I hope you know how I turn your words over and over inside my mind until I feel I could burst with happiness at the thought of someone like you believing in someone like me. I hope you know that when you cheered me on, I kept going. I want to be able to say that I kept going, even when it was hard. I want to say I pushed through and fought through the mud and found the miracles in it all.

I hope you know that when I come out on the other side, you will have touched my story. Maybe it was a simple conversation. Maybe it was one quote of encouragement that I’ve replayed endlessly since then. It could’ve been an offer to share a snack when I needed it most or a long friendship of popcorn-filled nights and movie marathons. But no matter how small it may seem, how insignificant little interactions and complimenting shoes might appear, every bit of it changed something. It changed me. Words with you, your thoughts and prayers, they shaped me into who I am today, and they’ll continue to shape me for the rest of my life.

Thank you for staying. Thank you for caring. Thank you for giving a little extra of yourself to a girl who will never be the same because of it. I promise you, it mattered.

One thought on “It Mattered

  1. Hello from Paris and enjoyed your post of 1 May. Hope all went well with your finals .
    I am so proud to have a grand daughter like you❤️❤️
    Love PAPA

Leave a Reply

