Women In Fiction

For the past week or so, the hashtag #womeninfiction has been going around twitter. It inspired me to write this post, which is really just a giant thank you note. Women in fiction are the bomb diggity, and I’d like to say something to several of them.

To Brave’s Merida. I wish your movie had been around when I was a kid, but even now, I love it. Thank you for your unruly curly hair, because even though mine is shorter, it’s just as unmanageable. Thank you for being the only Disney princess to end up without a man; it’s taken me longer than I’d like to admit to realize that not all princesses need princes, and I’m so grateful that you’ve shown that to me and to younger girls growing up with your movie. I hope they get that message. Thank you for shooting for your own hand.

To The 100‘s Raven Reyes. You got through the whole Finn thing. You got through falling to Earth in a really broken old spaceship. You even got through a major surgery without any anesthesia. Thank you for being strong and a mechanic and for showing me that I can be hurt without being completely broken. Thank you for getting through everything, because it makes me feel like I can, too. Also, thanks for being a sassy queen because that’s pretty great.

To Harry Potter‘s Luna Lovegood. Thank you for being one of a kind. You’re not afraid to be your compassionate and wonderful self, to support those who matter to you, and to show every single person (and creature) their importance. Thank you for reminding me to be myself and not be afraid to be different.

To The Archived’s Mackenzie Bishop. You were one of my first kick-butt female characters, in all honesty. Thank you for being well-rounded and for showing me that you do not have to be invincible to be strong. Also, thank you for that sassy scene where you beat Wesley up in the gym on your first day at Hyde because that was beautiful.

To Percy Jackson and the Olympians’s Annabeth Chase. You’re smart and you’re awesome and I’m very sorry you didn’t get what you deserved in Blood of Olympus. Thank you for being the brains behind the quest instead of the damsel in distress (at least, most of the time) and for showing girls that it’s great to be intelligent and smart girls don’t have to hide that for anyone else to like them.

To Sense and Sensibility’s Elinor Dashwood. I wasn’t going to make it through this post without a Jane Austen character. It sounds ridiculous considering your book’s title but you’re just so sensible and I love it. You’re calm and rational and not crazy. Thank you for giving some representation to the quiet, thoughtful ones.

To The 100′s Clarke Griffin. Mama Bear Clarke, where would the 100 be without you? Thank you for always doing what needs to be done and always trying, and for not letting romance get in the way of the bigger picture. Thank you for being so beautifully imperfect. You don’t always make the best decisions but I don’t, either, and I’m so grateful that you’re so real.

To The 100‘s Octavia Blake. Thank you for your amazing character development. You grow immensely through the show, and I’m honestly so proud. Thank you for continuing to be yourself even when you don’t feel like you belong. Thank you for being so incredibly strong and for teaching me to not be afraid.

To Harry Potter‘s Hermione Granger. I don’t even know where to begin. You’re smart and brave and not scared to stand up for yourself, your friends, and what you believe in. You advocate for House-elves, which is pretty rad. Thank you, Hermione, for so much more than your brains. Thank you for showing me that it is nothing short of awesome to be a smart girl with ridiculously curly hair, and that girls like us might just be able to change the world. It sounds crazy, but thank you for being there for me. Just, thank you. For everything.

So I’m a dork who lets these fictional characters take up very permanent residences in my heart. Sue me. They’ve got flaws and imperfections and confidence and insecurity and amazingness, and it’s such a blessing to read/watch. These fictional women have changed my life, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

Leave a Reply

