Haiti Day 7: Goodbye

Of all my Haiti posts, this is the hardest to write. Haiti was just so amazing. I saw God in new ways and heard Him speak to me loud and clear. I made wonderful new friends and had incredible experiences that left me more Godfident than ever. I learned how to depend more and more fully on God and was able to watch His will come to life. He blessed me so much with this trip; how can I possibly sum it all up? Even worse, how can I possibly say goodbye?

I am choosing to believe that this is not the end. One of the tricky things about Christian events is that when you leave, you leave on a Jesus high, and that tends to fade. I think that what God did for me in Haiti is more than that. He brought real and lasting change, and I know that this same God is still with me now. He has a plan to use me back home, just as He did in Haiti.

God taught me so much on this trip. He showed me that, Haitian or American, we are all His sons and daughters. He showed me how much more blessed it is to give. He showed me that the more I trust in Him, the more I will see Him work. He has used this trip and this entire summer to bring me to a place of complete dependence on Him, and it’s joy and peace like nothing else. My trip to Haiti is not the end. It is just another chapter of the story God is writing for me. It’s an even greater thrill to know that my chapter is really just a sentence or two, maybe even just a few words, in His Grand Story. I am so, so blessed to have been a part of this trip, but even more than that, I am blessed to play a role in God’s ongoing tale of love and redemption.

He loves us. Oh, how He loves us.

Thank you so much for reading about my trip! It was an amazing experience that I will never forget. Haiti has stolen a piece of my heart that I don’t think I will ever get back, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. God is truly alive and working all around the world. His plan is so huge that it’s unfathomable; He cares about the details of not only my life, but of the lives of all seven billion people on the planet! Our God is a big God. Our God is a trustworthy God. Our God is a loving, kind, amazing, faithful, awesome God. He is the God that I saw at work in Haiti, and my only desire is to see more.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” -Ephesians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

