Haiti Day 6: Blissful Joy

Thursday morning in Haiti started with this prayer: God, I’m empty. Physically, the sleep deprivation multiple nights in a row was starting to catch up on me. Emotionally, I was just feeling drained. I told God that morning that I couldn’t handle the day on my own, and He reassured me that I didn’t have to. I went into that day completely depending on Him.

So it’s no wonder that this day contains my favorite memory of the trip.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. In the morning of Haiti day 6, our team split up into three smaller groups and went into homes to see a day in the life of a Haitian. I got to help a mother of three cook and carry water to her house. We pumped the water from a well and carried it across a field and the street in five gallon buckets, which was pretty exhausting. It continued to astound me that the people I met were grateful for water that they had to carry across the street, while many Americans complain if the water coming out of our kitchen faucet doesn’t taste right. That’s one of the things I’m still grappling with as I readjust to life in the States: our material possessions are greater, but so is our amount of complaining and whining about them.

While carrying water like the Haitians do was pretty cool, it wasn’t my favorite part of the day. That came during VBS. Picture this: I’m surrounded on all sides by beautiful Haitian mountains and a crystal clear sky. My tee shirt and maxi skirt are dusty and dirty. Kids are playing all around me, doing crafts, jumping rope, and kicking around a soccer ball. A beautiful little girl grabs my hand, pulls me over to the middle of the field, and starts spinning in circles. She spins, falls, spins, falls. I join her, and then one little girl playing jump rope joins us, then two, then three, then all of them. Eight or so girls begin falling on top of me as they spin around happily, and I can’t help but smile. Eventually our game evolves into Ring Around the Rosy, and I can barely spin for tripping over my maxi skirt and laughing hysterically. I think to myself that this would be a perfect picture, but even more, I think that this is what joy is like.

As I depended on God throughout Haiti Day 6, He blessed me in incredible ways. I have seen now that the more I trust in Him, the more I get to see His will at work in my life. I am so, so grateful for the blissful joy that only He can give.

10480061_10101595228102221_451157717047553784_o

 

Leave a Reply

