The Fault in Our Stars Movie

I just saw The Fault in Our Stars, and it was quite honestly the most beautiful movie I’ve ever seen in my entire life. I cried and cried and cried some more, and in between the tears I laughed a little, too.

One of the many reasons that I find TFiOS so beautiful is the way its message resonates with me. This story questions, among other things, whether suffering is worth it in the end. What happens to us after we die? Do we have to be remembered to matter? Why do we even want to matter? Through it all, there is this constant appearance of pain as Hazel and Gus continue on their lives with cancer. They wonder how much good can outweigh the bad, and whether the good needs to outweigh the bad at all.

Though I am not comparing my struggles to those of a cancer patient, these questions are still important to me. Sometimes, I feel like Hazel, doomed to hurt those I love because of my imperfections and wanting to push them away to keep them from pain. I guess the most important thing TFiOS taught me is that sometimes, it seems like the joy will never make up for the suffering; yet, we still have joy and we still suffer. Even if it seems like the human life has no destination but death, and that we have to struggle and struggle along until we get there, life is still worth living. We go on, and that is beautiful and worthy in and of itself.

Thank you so much to John Green for writing this amazing story, Josh Boone for making it happen on the big screen, and Shailene, Ansel, and all the other actors and actresses for bringing these characters to life. Thank you to everyone involved in this story for the message it tells. Thank you for the big helping of hope I received tonight.

Leave a Reply

